Thursday, October 29, 2020

THE MONK / TRAVELS 


The monk
travels,

wishing
for less

of every-
thing. With

his sack
full of

empti-
ness, he

gets what
he wants.



Wednesday, October 28, 2020

OH, MY 


Oh, my,
the great

blue
heron,

rising,
owns

the sky.



THE ANGLE 


The angle
of desire

approximates
as woman.

This
I understand:

love standing
in for lover.



Tuesday, October 27, 2020

NOTHING IS 


Nothing is
easier

than wanting.
Wishes are

fishes, are
girls on their

bicycles.



THE RED-WING 


The red-wing
blackbird

sings the ice
out again

this spring.



Monday, October 26, 2020

POEM: 


If not
something

as real
as hawk

or crow
then all

you've got
is words.



SOMETIMES 


Sometimes
only

one word,
this one:

evening.
Sometimes

that one
in the

morning.



Sunday, October 25, 2020

BETWEEN 


Between
desire and
tomorrow,

one hopes,
wisdom.



CHEW THIS 


Chew this, crow says,
offering me
my own tongue.



Saturday, October 24, 2020

AS IF 


As if
water

could be
symbol

when you're
dying

of thirst.



WIND AND LONG 


Wind and long
light laying

the tall grass.
This is how

evening comes.



Friday, October 23, 2020

THIS 


If you
see it,

say it.
The poem

is there.



LONG LIGHT 


Long light
caressing

the hawk.
Red-tail

dreaming
evening.



Thursday, October 22, 2020

MAN WANTS HIS 


Man wants his
straight lines.

The earth curves.



EVENING 


The fade
of sky

as the
wind dies

and trees
begin

to speak
with stars.



Wednesday, October 21, 2020

YOU SHOULD NOT 


You should not
have to work
the poem.

The poem should
work you.



THE DAY 


The day
lets loose
towards
evening;
the wind
falls down.

What you
hope for,
though, is
seldom
what you
get.



Tuesday, October 20, 2020

SKY RAGS 


Sky rags,
these

vultures
on

slow wind.



WHERE SNOW 


Where snow
keeps the light,

the woods
disperses.



Monday, October 19, 2020

CROW, THE 


Crow, the
bullet of
darkness

dragging
night in.



WHAT RAVEN 


What raven
says always
sounds chewed.



Sunday, October 18, 2020

NO LINE 


No line of
sky and field.

Wall of white,
all the light.

No difference.



STARS 


Stars
in the

distance
bringing

nothing
but the

dimness.
You feel

the loss.



Saturday, October 17, 2020

NARROW 


Narrow,
wide, the
curve of

the bird's
turning.



RAVEN 


Raven
rakes the sky
with her cries.

No one knows
what this means.



Friday, October 16, 2020

HOME 


where light gathers
as the storm comes on.



THE WOODS 


The woods
wherein

the wind
rests when

not worry-
ing us.



CROW ON 


Crow on an
April morning

once again
pretending

he doesn't know.



Thursday, October 15, 2020

WITHIN 


Within
the wanting

a sorrow
that won't

let go.



LIGHT LIKE 


Light like fire
in the top of the pine --
old friends.



Wednesday, October 14, 2020

LIKE LEATHER 


Like leather
the darkness

this chilly
spring evening.



WHERE LIGHT 


Where light
color

where darkness
would be.



Tuesday, October 13, 2020

A SWASH 


A swash
of grey

rain

buckled
by wind.



LET ME 


Let me,
let me,
he says.

She won't
know what
he means

until
she does.



Monday, October 12, 2020

THE RAIN / ALREADY 


The rain
already knows

most of what
the river

will remember.




MY SORROW 


My sorrow
is weathered
like

old barn boards.
In certain
light

sadness looks
almost like
joy.



Sunday, October 11, 2020

THE DRY GRASSES 

 
The dry grasses
stand winter-

proud against
spring rain.

Somewhere lurks
the dream within.



THE THING 


The thing
does not know
its purpose,

sometimes
does not know
pleasure from

pain. Duty
is duty,
yet sometimes

is joy, which
confuses.
What it does

is what it
does and what
it wants to

do again,
this thing which
does not know.



Saturday, October 10, 2020

THE GLISTENING 


The glistening
where light hides
after rain.



DON'T THINK I DON'T 


Don't think I don't
see you, trees,

talking with the stars
all night, the stars

telling you how to
say steady

against this
sadness. The wind

has nothing
it wishes to add.



Friday, October 09, 2020

WHAT WOULD BE 


What would be
sorrow hawk

does not know.
She knows

only hunger.



WHO CAN KNOW 


Who can know
stars and
stillness who

knows only
concrete and
glass?



Thursday, October 08, 2020

LOVELINESS 


Loveliness
the shuddering

she does not
yet know.



WHAT THE WIND 


What the wind
knows doesn't

cover what
it doesn't.



Wednesday, October 07, 2020

NOW 


Not the
begin-

ning, not
the end --

this one
moment,

glowing.
Always.

The stars
know it.



WORDS COM- 


Words com-
posed in

silence
break it.



Tuesday, October 06, 2020

MESSAGE AS 


Message as
metaphor

for what the
poem does.



IF THE THINGS 


If the things
of the world

did not have
their secrets

we would know
even less.



Monday, October 05, 2020

A SWASH 

 
A swash
of grey

rain

buckled
by wind.



ONE CELL 


I am one
cell in the
greater beast.

You are too.

When we are
gone, it still
goes on.



Sunday, October 04, 2020

THIS MOMENT 


This moment
knows it is

this moment.
It waits for

me to say
it: This, now.

Now this one.



Saturday, October 03, 2020

BURIAL PLANS 


Send my ashes
to some rocky

sharpness on Mars.
I haven't done

enough for this
earth to want me.



Friday, October 02, 2020

WHERE THE WEAR 


Where the wear
marks mark

the earth. If
you can't see

them, I will
show you.



Thursday, October 01, 2020

TO WHOM 


To whom
does the poem
speak

that they
do not answer,

that they
cannot?



This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?