Monday, August 19, 2019

THE LONG SHADOWS 


The long shadows
of morning,

the day ahead
farther than

their reach, wind
coming in

like sorrow.
Nothing's promised.

Take what is left.



Sunday, August 18, 2019

OLD MAN 


He thinks
he knows

where he
is, when

suddenly
he doesn't.

The world
has turned.



Saturday, August 17, 2019

GREEN AIR 


Green air
beneath
empty sky.

August's
promise
is not kept.

Shadows
leap at
silence.



Friday, August 16, 2019

EVEN AT THE RIVER 


I see
once again

the cottonwoods
have not learned

to listen.



Thursday, August 15, 2019

DO NOT SAY 


Do not say
love

when you mean
hot nights

in July.



Wednesday, August 14, 2019

ALL NIGHT 


All night
the fields

have waited
for day.

Sun comes.
A hawk

cuts the sky
as if to say

it's morning
again and

that's enough.



Sunday, August 11, 2019

Lord, lord, 



Lord, lord,
the day says

about to
break, light

like fire
in a god's

eye, the wind
like her breath.



Saturday, August 10, 2019

FACEBOOK COMMENT 


The universe
tends toward

entropy,
they say.

You can't put
spilled milk

back into the
broken glass.



Thursday, August 08, 2019

AT THE END 


When finally
the light

lets go,
wherever

it goes,
I follow.



Wednesday, August 07, 2019

MORNING 


Where
the monarch
butterfly

lights,
light.



Tuesday, August 06, 2019

THE BLESSING 


The blessing
of this poem,
he said, is

when it's done
it stays done.



Monday, August 05, 2019

THIS IS 


This is
the same
light which

blessed us
last time,
he said,

before
we lost
our way.



Sunday, August 04, 2019

SOMETIMES / WANTING 


Sometimes
wanting is
enough.

Patience,
the worm on
the hook.

Wait for it.



Saturday, August 03, 2019

WHERE THERE'S 


Where there's
wind, light

dances with
leaves. That

beauty
should not go

unremarked.



Friday, August 02, 2019

THERE IS SO 


There is so
much I do

not wish to
say: this is

its essence,
poetry,

not saying.



Thursday, August 01, 2019

SOMETIMES 


Sometimes what we want
is to stand at the

edge of the void and
imagine what it

is like to fall to
a darkness filled with

the last of every
hope. Sometimes it is

enough simply to say
good-bye, God-speed, love.



This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?