Tuesday, June 25, 2019

OH, YES, THE STARS 


Oh, yes, the stars
lie to us

every night
about which of them

might still be
burning and which

are clinkered
hulks, about what

distance really is
and what darkness

isn't (think loss
times intensity

over the speed
of light), about

what will fill the
emptiness and

what the emptiness
fills. We want to

believe them, those stars,
and it is so

difficult to
turn away.



Monday, June 24, 2019

SOMETIMES 


Sometimes what is
done is not done.

In that moment,
let go. Let the

mountain come to
you. Have patience.

Let it bring the
weight which breaks us.

Let it break you.



Sunday, June 23, 2019

THIS PLACE, THAT 


This place,
that place,
the places

between.
How I find
my world

and how
the world
finds me.



Saturday, June 22, 2019

THE FISH 


The fish
doesn't

notice
the ocean

until
it does.



Friday, June 21, 2019

WISDOM IS 


Wisdom is
slant to us,
to what

we lose, to
what loves us
sideways.



Thursday, June 20, 2019

THE OPEN STONE 


A sere
lonesomeness.

The wind.
The smell

of dry grass.
The taste

of dust on
the tongue.

All you know
recedes. There's

nothing
left here but

a stone
like a loaf

of bread,
like a vow

you will keep.



Tuesday, June 18, 2019

CORRECTING ROBERT BLY 


It is not
dust, Robert,

if it is
wet. Believe

me, I have
seen the rain.



Monday, June 10, 2019

ALL THE STONES 


All the stones
God left us

for heaving
and hauling

and holding,
to make me

who I am.



Sunday, June 09, 2019

AN EVENING 


Blood where
blood should be,

the firmness
of the night

pushed against.
Yet we can't

keep it, this
moment of

longing, for
what sings

sings now
to darkness.



Saturday, June 08, 2019

THE TURNING 


Not light
nor darkness --

the turning,
the evening

of day
and night,

that delight.



Friday, June 07, 2019

CROW EATS 


Crow eats the sun
again and 
darkness comes.



Thursday, June 06, 2019

THE CHOICE 


The choice
is easy --

accept
the darkness

or find
the stars

which point
towards home.



Wednesday, June 05, 2019

LIKE THE LOON 


Like the loon
coyote

howls across
the loneliness.



Tuesday, June 04, 2019

THE THING 


The thing
itself

is the
only

symbol
it needs.



Monday, June 03, 2019

NOW 


Now and eternity
are one and the same,

as within this instant
it all falls.



Sunday, June 02, 2019

RAIN BRINGS 


Rain brings
evening,

the wind-
folded sky.



Saturday, June 01, 2019

FIRE ABOVE 


Fire above,
ice beneath,

the setting sun
paints evening.



This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?