Monday, October 14, 2019

WE ARE AS 


We are as
stones are,

mostly
without

love
and with

patience,
and both

waiting
the sun to

warm us.



Sunday, October 13, 2019

SADNESS 


Sadness
is not

when you
can't fly,

it's when
the birds

cannot.



Saturday, October 12, 2019

SOMETIMES 


Sometimes
it's the poet
who lets go,

sometimes
the poem.



Friday, October 11, 2019

PHILOSOPHY 


Philosophy
won't save you

when you are
falling off

the mountain.



Thursday, October 10, 2019

THE SUN 


The sun
does not
concern

itself
with us.
It has

its own
death to
think of.



Wednesday, October 09, 2019

THINKING OF LU YU'S ADVICE 


How to
get where

you need
to be?

Sit and
listen --

the rain.



Tuesday, October 08, 2019

THE COLD FLY LIVES 


Yang Wan-Li
tells of a fly
on a windowsill

rubbing its legs
together in
morning sun. Chance

sighting, he said,
but now that fly will
live forever.



Monday, October 07, 2019

WE COULD PLAY 


We could play
at poetry
the way men

play at war,
except not
blood shed, it

would be stars
lost to us.
Warring poets

would darken
the sky, would
lose the light

which brightens
us, and soon
we would be

as cinders
are, clinkers
in the coal

stove, burned out,
heat failing
our last breath.



Sunday, October 06, 2019

GIVE ME 


Give me
the plum itself,
cool and firm.

Give me
not the idea
of woman

but the warmth
between her breasts,
that sweetness.



Saturday, October 05, 2019

THE SOUL 


The soul
of the sparrow

is as grand
as that of man

in his
small world.



Friday, October 04, 2019

SOMETIMES 


Sometimes
in the weeds

a loveliness.
This moment

among all
the moments.

Rain when it's
needed. Tom,

stop wanting
anything more.



Thursday, October 03, 2019

IN THEIR HEARTS 


In their hearts
all poems are

morning poems.



Wednesday, October 02, 2019

WHERE WE 


Where we
think we
are is

where we
think they
will find

our bodies.



Tuesday, October 01, 2019

MARSH-HAWK 


Marsh-hawk,
I say.

The bird says
nothing

and flies
away.

I'm left with
wondering.



This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?